‘Exotic’ Birds

I was out of town for a few days (still in MN though), & I got the chance to view some neat birds I had never seen before. I saw a red-bellied woodpecker, which don’t usually come to my yard (usually I only see downy woodpeckers, & once in a blue moon pileateds). They are quite a bit bigger than some other woodpeckers, & interesting to watch. There were also Juncos, chickadees, blue jays, & cardinals. There was one species that I wasn’t quite sure about, they were kind of greenish-yellow, with white & black on their wings. At first I thought they might be a greenfinches, but it turns out that they live nowhere near here. I think now that they were female goldfinches, but I’m still not sure about that. If anyone has a better idea please let me know!

The mystery finch.

3 thoughts on “‘Exotic’ Birds

  1. Hi Song of the Wolf, My 2 cents is that your mystery bird is likely a female Goldfinch but it also may possibly be a Pine Siskin. I am still voting Goldfinch, however. I really like your illustrations! Have a fantastic day!

  2. We have one red bellied woodpecker who is a regular at our feeder. He is always a delight to watch because he is so handsome. I’ve never seen a pileated woodpecker–hoping I get to see one some day, they are supposed to live around here. The description of the finch does sound like the winter colors of the gold finch. Hard to tell from your drawing though. Hope you figure it out!

Leave a Reply

