Lilac Bush Is Wilting :-(

'what the flowers look like now'

 It appears the lilac bush is done for the year. It’s only May but the blossoms are brown & crispy & falling off. The leaves are still thick & green though. The birds still shelter in it whenever they hear a noise or a dog walks by, but it is not stunningly beautiful & it does not smell so wonderful either. Lilacs are one of the earliest bloomers, but they also are one of the first plants to stop blooming. The bush is the birds favorite place to shelter in my yard; the thick clusters of leaves provide excellent places to shelter, as well as sweet-smelling flowers in the spring & twigs to make their nests with.

2 thoughts on “Lilac Bush Is Wilting :-(

  1. My, your area is much ahead of here. Our lilacs are just starting to reach full bloom. I’ve found the also to be great homes for humming birds. We have several nesting in one of our lilacs each summer.

  2. I’ve recently become acquainted with the Lilac as a neighbor has a large shrub Lilac. The blooms are quite exquisite but I agree that the bloom is over for this year. I say that I am recently acquainted with the Lilac because the plant is not found where I used to live in Southern California. I am so glad we have them here in TN. Nice post and illustration today!

Leave a Reply

