White-throated sparrow

'white-throated sparrow'

Yesterday I was able to identify for the first time a White-throated sparrow in my yard. I’d been thinking there was a new type of sparrow visiting my feeder for a while, & I finally figured out its name. These birds are a bit smaller than their song sparrow cousins, & they prefer to feed on seeds on the ground, rather than in a tree or on a feeder. In fact, they even build their nests on the ground, which is somewhat uncommon for small birds. Click on the link for loads of cool information (& a neat video) of these birds: http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/White-throated_Sparrow/id. The best way to attract these birds is to put out a tray or platform feeder, which they like because they can stay on the ground to feed.

2 thoughts on “White-throated sparrow

  1. I am so glad for you to have seen this new to you bird. I always appreciate the effort you put into writing about these animals and birds. I also enjoy your drawings a lot!

  2. Interesting little bird. I’ve never seen one, but it looks like we’re out of its range. I like your drawing and appreciate the link!

Leave a Reply

