Robins call gutter ‘home’

A pair of robins recently decided that a good place to raise their family would be on top of my rain-gutter. It’s actually kind of convenient because I can see right into the nest from my balcony. It’s a big nest, about 4-6 inches wide, & it’s woven really tightly. It’s amazing how birds can weave nests that well with only a beak to do it. They made a huge, messy nest first, & then one day when I looked at it they had knocked the whole thing to the ground, except the bottom few twigs. Then they built it up again much neater & tighter, but the bottom of it is still sticking out in every direction. The robins sit on the eggs most of the time, & sometimes they don’t fly away when I go outside to look at them. I am expecting to see chicks soon. Yay! (-:   (Click the tiny pic to see it close up. Sometimes the photo blows up really huge before it becomes easy to see.)                                                                                                               

4 thoughts on “Robins call gutter ‘home’

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  2. How fun! Have they hatched yet? The nest that I posted a photo of on my blog hatched 2 days ago. Hope to post a photo of the babies soon.

  3. Fantastic photographs! Nice information on the American Robins, too! I have always wondered what a Robin’s nest was like. Now I know! Thanks for yet another great post. I look forward to reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

